Wingless And Crash And Bash Stars Join Local Champions At Nyora

Nyora Raceway this weekend starts its season with a huge two day show leading into the Melbourne Cup public holiday with many people making a long weekend for the racing, the Speedway racing of course. Wingless Sprints will compete on both days. Crash and Bash will also tear down the house as they smash their way around the Speedway.

Local champions from all club classes will get their chance to shine also with Standard Saloons featuring in their 20/20 team event, Sports Sedans and Speedway Sedan Juniors in features and the Junior Standard Saloons supporting proceedings on the Sunday.

Wingless Sprints – Photo Courtesy of Random Panda Photography

Wingless Sprints – Photo Courtesy of Random Panda Photography

Saturday and Sundays racing starts at 4:30pm both days. Almost thirty Wingless Sprints will compete in the first two rounds of the track championship supported by IDIGIT and ML Automotive at Nyora and the list of chances for victory is long. Wayne Logue from Morwell, Wayne Nicholls, Daryl Logue, Scott Irons, Samantha Millar, Chris Halesworth, Wayne Milburn Jnr, Travis Evans, Travis Millar the King of Nyora, Travis Bergmeier and Peter Logue are just some of the chances, and that is leaving a few names out of the paragraph. Travis Millar is a name hard to top at Nyora though. He wins more than 80% of the feature events he starts at the bullring and if he starts in the top four you will be hard pressed to beat him.

Crash N Bash – Photo Courtesy of Napier Photography

Crash N Bash – Photo Courtesy of Napier Photography

Grant Attewell, Andrew Miles, Jason Judd, Nathan Taylor, Brad Warren, James Kane and first winner of the season Mark Hebblethwaite are just some of the drivers in the Crash and Bash to watch in the ‘Andrews Car Removals Crash for Cash’. Attewell ripped the front end out of his car at Drouin two weeks ago before the event passed the starters flag in the final. He watched the forty-lap final whilst Judd and Warren battled out front for most of that race, before Hebblethwaite snapped up the win. It will once again be tough competition on the weekend; however, they all have to get through to Sunday to win the weekend.

In Standard Saloon 20/20 action where team-mates complete a final with one driver circulating in one direction before handing over to the second driver to go the other way, Marcus Reddecliffe will team with Dale Hallett a Modified Sedan competitor and member of the club. Poowong resident Stephen Douglas and Drouin resident Shane Ardley will partner up, Jack Brennan and Aaron Price, Warragul husband and wife pairing of Neil & Tracey Ingram, Pakenham lads and Brendon Miles, Steven & Alan Danks, Chris and Drew Miles, Bunyip father and son team of  Jeff & Mitch Blencowe and Johnny Watson and Tyson Cull amongst a terrific line-up. A difficult to pick a winner in this field.

In Sports Sedan action Victorian champion for the Ramsdale Wreckers Showdown, Jamie Paull will have a fight on his hands to win the first Nyora show for the season with Simon Bent hitting the track right from event one. Jake Young whose moved across from Crash and Bash has a good car to steer and Jayde Aarts Falcon is a tough machine also. Add in Robert Garlick, Jackson Barneveld, Wayne Alberni, Jacob Blencowe, Steve Akil, Darren O’Brien and others and it is another tough event to choose a winner for.

In the Cut and Core Cup for National SSA Junior Sedans, entries include Jayden Bryant and Luke Cornfoot from Alexandra club up against Zoe Young and Kiarna Barton from Nyora. The Alexandra drivers finished on the podium at their first club event of the season recently and the Nyora Girls are keen to get off to a good start locally. There will also be a swag of local rookie competitors in the Standard Saloon Juniors on Sunday with Damon Ingram starting off the season favourite.

All the action starts from 4.30pm on both days whilst the gate will be open for public from around 11am for entry will cost $20 for an adult, Kids 12 to 16 are $10 each whilst all other children are free and Pensioners are $10

For all enquiries call 0408 076 965


Nyora thank the Club sponsors for this season:
Miles Mechanical Pakenham – Total Autos Pakenham – Rip it Up Earthworks Bittern – Bursons Pakenham – Highline Racewear – Cut N’ Core – South East Paving – Tooradin Sports Club – ARP Earthworks – All Care Exhausts Pakenham – Bass Concreting – John Duff & CO – Shell – Mepstead Electrical – J Allcock Plumbing – ZT Carpentree – Ramsdale Wreckers – SS AG Services – Polly’s Auto Salvage – Sherlow’s Used Cars – Concept Trade Solutions – Flatout Trailers & Fabrication – Random Panda Photography – Napier Photography – JW Book Keeping – Sticky Biz Apparel – Cecil Excavations – Earth Link Electrical – Metal Station – Mornington Motors – ML Automotive – Peninsula District Towing – Somerville Motor Body Works – Ultimate Awards – BAM Inspect & Build – Pakenham Accident Repairs – BGN Auto Glass – Affordable Auto Salvage – Ripper Sticker – Taylor’d Fabrications – Russell Steel – Heartfelt Candles – Dandenong Pest Control – Pakenham Towing – Wise Steel Sales – Victorian Crane Trucks – EPH Group



Both Saturday and Sunday

Kasey Garlick – V6 (Rookie)
Daryl Logue – VX6
Wayne Logue – V16
Thomas McDonald – VX20
Wayne Nicholls – V21 (Rookie)
Ricky Mills – VX21
Chris Skilton -V29
Scott Irons – V52
Samantha Millar – V53
Kyle Mayson – VX59 (Rookie)
Jessie Garlick – VX62
Brett Pope – VX64
Marc Evans – V66
Christopher Halesworth – V67 (Saturday only)
Wayne Milburn Jnr – VX67
Kim-Loong Gosling – VX68
Aron Lawrence – V70
Gavin Fitzpatrick – V73
Travis Evans – V77
Clint McLaren – V79
Tom McKenna – V85 (Rookie)
Renae Eastham – V88 (Sunday Only)
Christopher Temby – V89
Ben Poliansky – V91
Travis Millar – V93
Bradley Benson – VX95 (Rookie)
Travis Bergmeier – V9
Peter Logue – V98
Jason Donnelly – V99 (Rookie)

Grant Attewell – 4
Garry Charles – 42
Nathan Jones – 69
Anthony Segond – 95
Ashley George – 100
Andrew Miles – 134
Nathan Taylor – 144
Brad Warren – 184
Jason Judd – 187
Neil Davey – 414
Richard Lewandowski – 422
Mark Hebblethwaite – 474
Daniel Litten – 747
James Kane – 777
Alan George – 911
Ron George – 000

Jamie Paull – Nyora/Victoria 1
Bailey Perkins – Nyora 4
Wayne Alberni – Drouin 4
Steve Akil – Alexandra 8
Seth Bent – Nyora 12
Troy Glassborow – Nyora 16
Darren O’Brien – Nyora 22
Simon Bent – Nyora 24
Jayde Aarts – Nyora 25
Matt Sgroi – Nagambie 29
Robert Garlick – Alexandra 63
Jackson Barneveld – Alexandra 68
Jake Young – Nyora 73
Jason Snelling – Nyora 78
Jacob Blencowe – Drouin 90

Marcus Reddecliffe – Dale Hallett – Nyora/Victoria 2
John Watson – Tyson Cull – Drouin 4
Jeff Blencowe – Mitch Blencowe – Drouin 10
Brendan Miles – Mark Miles – Nyora 12
Chris Miles – Drew Miles – Nyora 18
Robbie Noonan – Justin Hutchins – Nyora 19
Leigh Mitchell – Steve Mitchell – Rosedale 19
Scott Deville – Ash Wilson – Nyora 24
Matt Saunders – Kayla Saunders – Nyora 28
Jack Brennan – Aaron Price – Nyora 34
Kane Gibson – Kevin Hays – Rosedale 41
Stephen Douglas – Shane Ardley – Nyora 44
Neil Ingram – Tracey Ingram – Nyora 76
Steven Danks – Alan Danks – Rosedale 96

Saturday Only

Daniel Attewell – Nyora 6
Luke Cornfoot – Alexandra 1
Tenyah Barton – Nyora 19
Toby Parks – Alexandra 43
Brody Barton – Nyora 47
Jayden Bryant – Alexandra 49
Kiarna Barton – Nyora 51
Zoe Young – Nyora 57
Jess O’Donnell – Nyora 96

Hayley Hutchins – Nyora 23
Kayla Saunders – Nyora 28
Colleen Keating – Nyora 32
Sharlene Laidlaw – Drouin 41
Ash Wilson – Nyora 44
Kate Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 78

Sunday Only

Cody Drennan – Nyora 10 (Rookie)
Nathan Miles – Nyora 12 (Rookie)
Maddison Miles – Nyora 18
Jack Knott – Nyora 23
Breanna Vertigan – Nyora 32 (Rookie)
Matthew Shankland – Nyora 46 (Rookie)
Chase Ingram – Nyora 67 (Rookie)
Sway Wilson – Nyora 74
Damon Ingram – Nyora 76


Written by
Dean Thompson
DMT Sports Media


For Nyora Speedway Drivers Club