Laity And Styles Win Victorian Titles At Nyora Raceway

Speedway fans were treated to a fantastic night of racing at Nyora Raceway in South Gippsland on February the 24th with not one, but two state titles decided by the end of the evening and the two big wins went by way of Bairnsdale racer Mark Laity in the Sprintcars and Sydney racer Peter Styles in the Mini Sprintcars.

#39 Vincent Charter, #15 David Dennison and #28 Michael Evans – Photo courtesy of Random Panda Photography

#39 Vincent Charter, #15 David Dennison and #28 Michael Evans – Photo courtesy of Random Panda Photography

Weather threatened all of the dirt track across across Victoria on the night and in fact Bairnsdale Speedway itself was cancelled due to weather. However Nyora fans and race officials and volunteers were pleased when the weather skipped the venue and allowed two state champions to be crowned.

#53 Mark Laity and #35 Adam Greenwood – Photo courtesy of Random Panda Photography

#53 Mark Laity and #35 Adam Greenwood – Photo courtesy of Random Panda Photography

In Sprintcar action six heat races determined the positions in which drivers would begin their state title race and winners included Alistair Bastian from Fernbank, Laity, Mark Noonan, Wayne Nicholls from Pakenham, Adam Greenwood and Jason Langdon.

The big feature race to determine the new champion was as expected fast and furious and Laity who previously has a number of Limited Sportsman Victorian championships to his collection and whilst an accomplished racer, he was not in most experts eyes one of the drivers expected to win the race yet he proved to everybody after qualifying on the front row with Greenwood. A favourite Moe racer Mitch Foster started way back in seventh.

At the end of a gruelling and quick race with little drama and a credit to the competitors in the event, Laity came away with the title victory from Greenwood, Bastian, Foster and Andrew Nielsen from Bairnsdale.

Peter Styles – Photo courtesy of Random Panda Photography

Peter Styles – Photo courtesy of Random Panda Photography

Not to be out done the miniature Mini Sprints and their mostly motorcycle 1000cc engines competed for their title also with three heat wins going by way of Danny Stone and Peter Styles both down from Sydney and Darren Schnoor from Leongatha.

An exciting state championship final was then won after leading all the way by Styles from Darren Schnoor, Andrew Burleigh, Owen Schnoor (Darren’s son) and Dave Alie. For much of the race Styles, Danny Stone and Darren Schnoor were involved in a three way tussle until the left rear shock came off from the top and Stones car struggled from there and he then threw a chain and that was the end of his race. Kyle Stathopoulos had a roll over and thankfully the driver is fine.

Support class action included the Standard Saloons with cousins Mark and Brendon Miles both taken a qualifying win as did former Victorian champion Micheal Ardley before Mark Miles defeated Brendon in the final with Mitch Blencowe West Gippsland ahead of Leigh Mitchell and Justin Hutchins.

Amanda Burrows had a terrific night in Ladies Standard Saloon racing with two heat wins before winning the final. Hayley Hutchins won the other heat race and finished second behind Burrows in the final event with Danielle Ardley and Allana Ardley finishing in third and fourth.

Jack Ramsdale had a clean sweep in Junior Sedan racing winning all three heat race events before taking the win in the final in front of Courtney Meakins, Rhys Meakins, Nick Cherry and Logan Mair.

Rounding out the nights racing was Sports Sedans with Broderick Stray, Jake Blencowe and Stray again the three heat race winners before Stray won the final ahead of Darren O’Brien and Mary-Anne Lowe.

Nyora Raceway’s next event is March the 24th with Crash and Bash, Compact Speedcars and Limited Sportsman’s joining all the club classes.


Nyora Raceway Inc also would like to thank their supporters:
Miles Mechanical Pakenham – Total Autos Pakenham – Rip it Up Earthworks Bittern – Bursons Pakenham – HardAzz Concrete and Excavations – Tooradin Sports Club – ARP Earthworks – All Care Exhausts Pakenham – Bass Concreting – John Duff & CO, Shell – Flatout Trailers & Fabrication – Random Panda Photography – Onsite Rental Group – Mornington Motors – ML Automotive – Peninsula District Towing – Somerville Motor Body Works – Ultimate Awards – BAM Inspect & Build – Pakenham Accident Repairs – BGN Auto Glass – Cheap Tyres Morwell – Affordable Auto Salvage – Ripper Sticker – Taylor’d Fabrications – Russell Steel – Heartfelt Candles – Dandenong Pest Control – Narre Warren Flooring – ANZ Carpentry – Pakenham Towing – WAP Motorsports


Written by
Dean Thompson
DMT Sports Media

For Nyora Raceway Inc.