The Price Is Right For Aaron As He Wins Big At Nyora And Stainer Does Too

Nyora Raceway on Saturday February the 10th held its latest race meeting with Standard Saloons, Grand Prix Midgets and Ladies Crash and Bash the big events on the line up and in a rough and tumble ‘Miles Mechanical’ supported Miles Cup for Standard Saloon feature local Aaron Price picked up a emotional win with Danny Stainer collecting a Victorian title victory in the Grand Prix Midgets.

With crashes, black flag race disqualifications, championships and ambulances and fire trucks all part of the nights racing at Nyora, spectators sure got bang for their bucks.

Starting with the Grand Prix Midgets competing for the Victorian title Stainer took the first qualifying race win. Stainer then took the second victory in heat two and raced around the venue in just under 16 seconds on his fastest lap of 15.924. Making it a clean sweep in the qualifiers Stainer won the third and final heat also.

A fifteen lap title race was a tremendous tussle with Australian and New South Wales champion Trevor Perry in the field setting the fastest one lap time of the night clocking a 15.655 as he battled with Jason Crawford before settling into second and trying to catch Stainer.

Danny Stainer – Photo courtesy of Random Panda Photography

Danny Stainer – Photo courtesy of Random Panda Photography

Stainer obviously deserved victory having won all three qualifiers and went on to pick up the title victory from Perry, Crawford, Lisa Chalcraft and David Bacon rounding out the top five finishers.

Standard Saloon action in the Miles Cup feature event was also a state point score event for the class. Some of the drivers had a lot more riding on the event than just the race win, one of those was local member Aaron Price who lost his grandfather since his last race meeting.

Nick Chrystie who has been chasing Tim Hutchinson from the Daylesford Speedway Club around this season trying to catch up on state points, was focused on nothing less than victory in order to close the gap between the two looked good to go on and take victory as the leaders threaded through the field.

Faster cars always have to get passed those at the back and a little leeway is given as cars bounce around at the back of the field in the hands of some of the less experienced racers. Stewards were keeping an eagle on things and seen some incidents that they didn’t like. One such incident involved race leader Chrystie and a black flag emerged from the flagman and the race leader with a couple laps to go was given his disqualification.

Aaron Price – Photo courtesy of Random Panda Photography

Aaron Price – Photo courtesy of Random Panda Photography

This elevated second placed racer Price into the lead whilst further back Tyson Cull received a protest flag which would see him dropped back two places. The chequer flag unfurled and Price picked up the win from Hutchinson, Mark Miles, Bradley Hill and Dale Morrison.

Price was a gracious winner after the race. “It was tough for us back in the lead bunch trying to work our way through the field. I really feel for Nick being disqualified, he is not a dirty driver and it could have happened to any of us. However that being said, I am really proud of winning in what has been a tough week losing pop. Thank you to my supporters and family for being with me and this little trophy is all for pop. Thank you to Nyora for all their hard work and we look forward to racing with you all again soon.”

In heat race action Michael Ardley won twice taking a win in the first heat and the fourth, Mark Miles won the second, Chrystie the third, Craig Templeton the fifth and Miles again in the sixth heat.

In the Ladies Crash and Bash a rollover in the feature race resulted in ambulances and fire trucks needing to attend when the race leader Bronwyn Miles in her Ford Territory had a big dump. Miles had just earlier won the fourth and final heat race for the Crash and Bash before the accident.

Results were declared with Leeanne Young the Victorian champion taking the win in the ‘Longbeach Metal Polishers Cup’ ahead of Sarah Price, Bridgette Morgan, Leah Judd and Amanda Burrows. Earlier Young won two heats with Tori Warren picking up her first ever win and Miles with the final heat victory.

In support class racing the Speedway Sedans Australia Junior feature result went the way of Ally Morrison ahead of Nick Cherry, Logan Mair, Natalie O’Donnell and Sharlotte McPherson whilst due to the time lost for the Crash and Bash Ladies rollover other classes results were declared on points.

Jeff Oldfield won the Street Stocks from Ashley Fox, Josh Davey, Steve Hardie and Don Fyfe, Tracey Ingram won the Ladies Standard Saloons ahead of Kim Eames, Trish Dike, Amanda Burrows and Hutchins and in the Mini Sprints Darren Schnoor won ahead of Andrew Burleigh, Kyle Stathopoulos, Ally Moore and Dave Alie.

Nyora returns on February the 24th for the Victorian VSC Sprintcar title and the Mini Sprints also.


Nyora Raceway Inc also would like to thank their supporters:
Miles Mechanical Pakenham – Total Autos Pakenham – Rip it Up Earthworks Bittern – Bursons Pakenham – HardAzz Concrete and Excavations – Tooradin Sports Club – ARP Earthworks – All Care Exhausts Pakenham – Bass Concreting – John Duff & CO, Shell – Flatout Trailers & Fabrication – Random Panda Photography – Onsite Rental Group – Mornington Motors – ML Automotive – Peninsula District Towing – Somerville Motor Body Works – Ultimate Awards – BAM Inspect & Build – Pakenham Accident Repairs – BGN Auto Glass – Cheap Tyres Morwell – Affordable Auto Salvage – Ripper Sticker – Taylor’d Fabrications – Russell Steel – Heartfelt Candles – Dandenong Pest Control – Narre Warren Flooring – ANZ Carpentry – Pakenham Towing – WAP Motorsports


Written by
Dean Thompson
DMT Sports Media

For Nyora Raceway Inc.